Education in the Department of Anesthesiology

Anesthesiology Residency

The Department of Anesthesiology at the University of New Mexico School of Medicine offers a four-year anesthesiology training program which includes an internship and three years of clinical anesthesiology. The anesthesiology residency program was established in 1988. The Department currently has 35 house staff, 33 Midlevel Providers, and 58 faculty members. Faculty members have trained at some of the finest institutions in this country and abroad. The Department is fully represented in all subspecialties of anesthesiology. Residents train at several sites: University Hospital, Outpatient Surgery and Imaging Services, and the Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

Pain Medicine Fellowship

The Division of Pain Medicine offers an ACGME-accredited 12-month Pain Medicine Fellowship, offering education in the management of chronic pain using medication as well as fluoroscopic and ultrasound-guided approaches.

Pediatric Anesthesia Fellowship

We provide twelve months of subspecialty education and training in all aspects of pediatric anesthesiology. The program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). We offer two fellow positions through the National Resident Match Program or NRMP.

Regional Anesthesiology Fellowship

The Regional Anesthesiology Fellowship at the University of New Mexico provides twelve months of subspecialty education and training in all aspects of regional anesthesia. Fellows will master upper and lower extremity peripheral nerve blocks, continuous catheter techniques, trunk blocks, eye blocks, and central neuraxial techniques as part of the fellowship program. A thorough understanding of sonographic anatomy is emphasized as ultrasound guidance is used for the vast majority of blocks.